News & Announcements Blog / News

Babson CAO Craven Among Boston Irish Reporter 2014 Honorees

Katherine Craven

Katherine Craven

The Boston Irish Reporter will honor Babson College CAO Katherine Craven during its annual anniversary luncheon Friday, October 24th, 11:45 a.m., Seaport Hotel, Boston.

Also honored at “Boston Irish Honors 2014” will be the Burke Family – Jacquelyn, John, Paul, Dennis, and Michael – and Boston Mayor Martin J. Walsh.

“We are especially pleased that this year’s honorees have agreed to share their stories with us,” said BIR publisher Ed Forry.  “In keeping with our heritage, the newspaper will recognize special achievements in business and public service, and salute an estimable family that shares our common roots in Boston and Ireland.”

Katherine Craven “has a legion of admirers for her roles in several public agencies.  A former staffer in the House Ways and Means committee and the mother of four, she was chief of the state’s School Building Authority, and oversaw the UMass Building Authority’s $3.8 billion five-year capital plan.  This spring she was named chief administrative officer at Babson College,” he said.

The Boston Irish Reporter is one of the region’s few remaining family-owned and-operated publica­tions. The annual event draws appreciative audiences of some 350 Boston business and civic leaders and members of our city’s Irish so­cial and cultural organizations.

The 2014 Luncheon Committee includes: Peter Meade, Event Chair, Ed Forry, Publisher, and Breandán O Caollaí, Consul General of Ireland. Members are: James T. Brett, Aidan Browne, William M. Bulger, James Carmody, John T. Carroll, Della O’Flaherty Costello, Steve Costello, Jay Curley, Sean Curran, Brendan Feeney, Dick Flavin, John Philip Foley, Bill Forry, Hon. Linda Dorcena Forry, Maureen Forry-Sorrell, Anne Geraghty, David Greaney, Jim Keefe, Edris Kelley, William F. Kennedy, Rev. Thomas B. Kennedy, Paul LaCamera, Mimi LaCamera, Joe Leary, Rosanne Bacon Meade, Sean Moynihan, James J. O’Brien, Michael O’Neill, Gil Sullivan, Michael Vaughn, Bobby White, and W. Paul White.